Governance of Region Västra Götaland

The Regional Executive Board consists of 15 members, who lead and coordinate Region Västra Götaland’s political activities. There are also committees and boards, for example healthcare committees, hospital and primary healthcare boards, a regional development committee, and environmental and cultural affairs committees.

Most of Region Västra Götaland’s central offices, secretariats and common administrations can be found in its offices, Regionens Hus, in Vänersborg, Göteborg, Skövde, Mariestad, Uddevalla and Borås. The central administration works at the Regional Executive Board’s secretariat. The highest official in Region Västra Götaland is the Chief Executive.